THE Dunsborough Towners reached thepinnacle of the game when they were awarded the Club of the Year at the SouthWest Football Association’s awards night last week.

The Association, the controlling body ofall football clubs in the South West, is the biggest body of control outsidethe metropolitan area in WA.

For Towners’ club president and founder, TonyPlumb, it was the icing on the cake after nine years of enthusiastic toil toestablish a football club in Dunsborough.

“I’m proud for the club and all those whohave supported us over the years and we are on the verge of greater things withthe women and juniors enjoying the fruits of success in their areas of thegame,” he said.

“The Towners are now ready to become oneclub with each section helping the other, and while players that pass throughhave been and always will be welcome it is the youth of the district that willkeep us in the picture”.

It was a combination of effects that ledthe referees to call the Dunsborough Towners the Club of the Year.

They recorded fewer red and yellowdisciplinary cards, the overall record of the teams under the Towners’ banner,exemplary reception and consideration to visiting players and officials and theexcellent new facilities at the Dunsborough Playing Fields.

The Association also officially issued theclub with the Pioneer Cup.

The Towners won the cup after beatingleague champions Australind in the final, the club’s biggest sporting successto date.

The Towners also emerged from the night withthe Young Player of the Year award to the clever Ethan Delatte.

The Women’s successful season did much toprovide Dunsborough with the title Club of the Year having won the Women’sPremier League Reserve title and then adding the South West Cup to the trophycabinet with victory over Geographe Bay in the final.

Further credit was heaped on the women’soutstanding season when Joey Schleuter was named the Premier Reserves PlayersPlayer of the Year and Candice Winder, the league’s leading goal scorer, wasnamed the Association’s runner up in the Player of the Year award.

Proud: Club president Tony Plumb with the club shield on awards night.

Champs: The Dunsborough Towners team after winning the Pioneer Cup.

This article first appeared in Hangzhou Night Net.

Posted in 苏州纹眉学校

Comments are closed.